The poppy wife : a novel of the Great War
(Large Print)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
Waterville, Maine : Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2020.
ISBN
9781432872373, 1432872370
Status
Description
Loading Description...
Also in this Series
Checking series information...
Copies
LocationCall NumberStatus
Downers Grove Public Library - 2nd Floor - AdultLARGE TYPE FICTION SCOTT, C.On Shelf
Linda Sokol Francis Brookfield Library - Adult NewLP SCOTTChecked out
Palos Heights Public Library - StacksL.P. FIC SCOOn Shelf
More Like This
Loading more titles like this title...
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Format
Large Print
Edition
Large print edition.
Physical Desc
605 pages (large print) ; 23 cm.
Language
English

Notes

General Note
"Originally published as The Photographer of the Lost in the United Kingdom in 2019 by Simon & Schuster UK"--Title page verso.
Description
"In the tradition of Jennifer Robson and Hazel Gaynor, this unforgettable debut novel is a sweeping tale of forbidden love, profound loss, and the startling truth of the broken families left behind in the wake of World War I. 1921. Survivors of the Great War are desperately trying to piece together the fragments of their broken lives. While many have been reunited with their loved ones, Edie's husband Francis has not come home. Francis is presumed to have been killed in action, but Edie believes he might still be alive. Harry, Francis's brother, was there the day Francis was wounded. He was certain it was a fatal wound--that he saw his brother die--but as time passes, Harry begins questioning his memory of what happened. Could Francis, like many soldiers, merely be lost and confused somewhere? Hired by grieving families, Harry returns to the Western Front to photograph gravesites. As he travels through battle-scarred France and Belgium gathering news for British wives and mothers, he searches for evidence of Francis. When Edie receives a mysterious photograph of Francis, she is more convinced than ever he might still be alive. And so, she embarks on a journey in the hope of finding some trace of her husband. Is he truly gone? And if he isn't, then why hasn't he come home? As Harry and Edie's paths converge, they get closer to the truth about Francis and, as they do, are faced with the life-changing impact of the answers they discover. Artful and incredibly moving, The Poppy Wife tells the unforgettable story of the soldiers lost amid the chaos and ruins, and those who were desperate to find them"--,Provided by publisher.
Local note
LARGE PRINT
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Scott, C., & Scott, C. (2020). The poppy wife: a novel of the Great War. Large print edition. Waterville, Maine: Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Scott, Caroline and Caroline. Scott. 2020. The Poppy Wife: A Novel of the Great War. Waterville, Maine: Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Scott, Caroline and Caroline. Scott, The Poppy Wife: A Novel of the Great War. Waterville, Maine: Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2020.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Scott, Caroline,, and Caroline Scott. The Poppy Wife: A Novel of the Great War. Large print edition. Waterville, Maine: Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2020. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Loading Staff View.